Five Arrested in Franklin County on Meth Charge

Top row L to R: David Taylor, Michael Bowers, James Sneed. Bottom row L to R: Dustin Eckles, James Munyon / Photos: Franklin County Sheriff’s Office

BENTON – Five Franklin County residents were arrested for unlawful delivery of methamphetamine after the Southern Illinois Drug Task Force along with the Franklin County Sheriff’s Office and the West City , Benton, West Frankfort and Christopher police departments conducted an arrest warrant detail in Franklin County Wednesday.

Officials say those arrested were 26-year-old James S. Munyon of Benton, 33-year-old Dustin R. Eckles of Benton, 41-year-old David G. Taylor of West Frankfort, 47-year-old Michael D. Bowers of West Frankfort and 26-year-old James M. Sneed of Christopher.

The investigation leading to these arrests was conducted by the Southern Illinois Drug Task Force. It’s made up of members from the Illinois State Police, the Franklin County Sheriff’s Office along with police departments in West Frankfort, West City, Zeigler, Christopher and Benton.

The case will be prosecuted by the Franklin County State’s Attorney Evan Owens.